Back to the World of Cheese: Triple Cream, Goat, and Farmstead

It’s been awhile, but if you remember, my sister and I attended Surdyk’s The World of Cheese and experienced seven slices of heaven. Today I’d like to describe the first 3:

  1. Delice de Bourgogne (France)
  2. Montenebro (Spain)
  3. Taleggio Pasturo (Italy)

Delice de Bourgogne is a brie-style cheese and is called a triple-creme because creme is added twice during the cheese-making process. It is a cheese VERY high in moisture and spreads almost like warm butter (A-Maz-ing!).  It is only aged 4-6 weeks, a very short time for cheese. This cheese pairs well with dried apricot or any of the sweet stone fruits, preserves, cranberries, and walnut flavors. I wasn’t supposed* to eat this cheese, being pregnant, but I *may* have snuck a small, intsy-weentsy piece. 🙂 It was DElicious.

Delice de Bourgogne- bloomy (mold) rind, tangy, buttery, triple creme

Montenebro was our token goat’s cheese.  Now, let me tell you something about goat’s cheese-if you’ve never had it, you must stop reading this immediately and go an get yourself some right now.  Goat’s cheese is what drew forth from my heart this passion to start this cheese journey. It. is. heaven.  (Heading picture of my blog- goat’s cheese platter at Muffuletta for my birthday in 2010.) And as I posted in my last blog about goat’s cheese, it is always white, not the hinted yellowish color of cow’s milk.  This is because sheep are able to digest beta carotene and cows cannot. Goat’s milk is also the leanest of the cheeses, generally. There are so many amazing things about goat’s cheese. Please do me a favor and go eat some- for me- come on, I’m pregnant. Take one for the team ;). Goat’s cheese goes great with aged meats like salami and soft preserves like grape or you can copy the cheese platter from Muffuletta above (everything drizzled in honey).

Montenebro- P. roqueforti mold rind, densely creamy, intense, lingering flavor

Taleggio Pasturo is a name-protected cheese from Italy. This cheese is not pasteurized and takes great care to make.  It goes great on burgers, with hard meats (salami, prosciutto, etc.) and with fig jam or honey. My notes say that it tasted very salty so I must have snuck a sneak of this one too- wow, shame on me! It had a washed rind which means that the cheese is covered in B. linens culture to create the rind for aging (Ever wondered why cheese can smell like feet? Check out the B. linens link- good thing it’s so tasty!).

Taleggio Pasturo- washed rind, pungent aroma, sticky texture, savory
Well that’s 3 out of 7… stay tuned for the continuing saga of The World of Cheese!

*Generally, in pregnancy you want to avoid any cheese that has not been pasteurized since unwanted microbes could be hanging out after the cheese making process and in storage.  Usually this would be the case with the softer cheeses. Check out the Mayo Clinic for their view, scroll down to “Avoid unpasteurized foods.” Since the packaging wasn’t available to peruse readily during the class, I just played it safe and stuck with the hard cheeses… mostly.

2 responses

  1. I just randomly buy a new cheese every once in awhile at Trader Joe’s, but I never really know how to serve them. Loving your new blog venture!

    Can we make requests? Can you design a holiday tray for me I can serve this year? We learned in a HURRY when we moved out here that people don’t eat things like little sausages in BBQ sauce, velveeta cheese dip, etc. We had to adjust or nobody touched our holiday food! 🙂 Or maybe you can teach me the “rules” of how to pair the cheese I want with the right cracker/bread/fruit/jelly?????

    Or if I quit talking and keep reading, all my questions will be answered? 🙂

Leave a Reply

