Cheese Groupies

Apparently, there are other ways to talk about cheese than, “Oh. My. Gosh. More please.” or “What is this deliciousness?”

Cheeses can be grouped into several different categories- type of milk used, hard & soft, stinky vs. mild, regional groupings, etc.

The most basic categorization strategy seems to be the following four categories, and I like things to be simple– so for my blog, let’s go with that :).

Soft

Soft cheeses are cheeses with a high moisture content, generally with a spreadable consistency

Examples: cottage cheese, cream cheese, ricotta, brie, bleu, Roquefort, mozzarella, muenster, fromage blanc (French for ‘white cheese’), mascarpone, queso blanco (Spanish for ‘white cheese’)

Semi-soft

Semi-soft cheeses are slightly harder than soft cheeses, still with a high moisture content. They also tend to have a slightly longer shelf life and are great for melting.

Examples: American, Colby, co-jack, Quesa Fresca, Taleggio

Semi-hard

Semi-hard cheeses are made similarly to hard cheese, in that most of the moisture is drained out. Unlike hard cheese,  semi-hard are allowed to set in a mold with little or no pressure.

Examples: cheddar, provolone, Gouda, Jarlsberg

Hard

Hard cheeses are longest lasting, with a low moisture content, and are pressed and aged.

Examples: Parmesan, Romano, asiago, Swiss, Gruyere

For cheese experts, we’re at the “duh” level, but I’m just beginning my cheese discovery journey (and maybe you are too!), so let’s start at the very beginning- a very good place to start!

My wonderful husband surprised me with tickets to The World of Cheese on Monday, August 13th.  I’m sure we’ll all learn a lot more about the basics as we go to this class together. I’m SUPER excited and can’t wait to share everything I learn! I only wish I could send you each a taste ;)…

2 responses

  1. Come visit us on your cheese journeys. My brother works at one of the big cheese factories in our area and we are always getting fun stuff to taste! Plus, it’s just a good excuse to visit us.

Leave a comment